• by Wes Singleton

North Texas Film Critics Association Best of 2019

The North Texas Film Critics Association has announced their best of film awards for 2019. Martin Scorsese’s mob drama “The Irishman” was named Best Picture and Sam Mendes was named Best Director for the war film “1917.” See below for full list of winners and runners-up.

The North Texas Film Critics Association consists of 14 broadcast, print and online journalists from throughout the North Texas area.

Visit us at www.northtexasfilmcritics.com or follow us on Facebook.

SUMMARY OF AWARD WINNERS 2019 North Texas Film Critics Association (Choices listed in order of votes received) BEST PICTURE Winner: THE IRISHMAN Runners-up: 1917; PARASITE; THE FAREWELL; MARRIAGE STORY; JOJO RABBIT; THE PEANUT BUTTER FALCON; A BEAUTIFUL DAY IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD; ONCE UPON A TIME…IN HOLLYWOOD; FORD V FERRARI; JOKER BEST ACTOR Winner: Joaquin Phoenix, JOKER Runners-up: Robert De Niro, THE IRISHMAN; Adam Driver, MARRIAGE STORY; Adam Sandler, UNCUT GEMS and Leonardo DiCaprio, ONCE UPON A TIME…IN HOLLYWOOD BEST ACTRESS Winner: Charlize Theron, BOMBSHELL Runners-up: Scarlett Johansson, MARRIAGE STORY; Renée Zellweger, JUDY; Awkwafina, THE FAREWELL and Lupita Nyong’o, US BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR Winner: Tom Hanks, A BEAUTIFUL DAY IN THE NEIGHBORHOOD Runners-up: Joe Pesci, THE IRISHMAN; Brad Pitt, ONCE UPON A TIME…IN HOLLYWOOD; Al Pacino, THE IRISHMAN and Song Kang-Ho, PARASITE BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS Winner: Zhao Shuzhen, THE FAREWELL Runners-up: Laura Dern, MARRIAGE STORY; Scarlett Johansson, JOJO RABBIT; Kathy Bates, RICHARD JEWELL and Annette Bening, THE REPORT BEST DIRECTOR Winner: Sam Mendes, 1917 Runners-up: Martin Scorsese, THE IRISHMAN; Quentin Tarantino, ONCE UPON A TIME…IN HOLLYWOOD; Noah Baumbach, MARRIAGE STORY and Lulu Wang, THE FAREWELL BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM Winner: PARASITE (South Korea) Runners-up: PAIN AND GLORY (Spain) and LES MISÉRABLES (France) BEST DOCUMENTARY Winner: APOLLO 11 Runners-up: AMERICAN FACTORY; ONE CHILD NATION; DAVID CROSBY: REMEMBER MY NAME and ROLLING THUNDER REVUE: A BOB DYLAN STORY BEST ANIMATED FILM Winner: TOY STORY 4 Runners-up: ABOMINABLE and HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON: THE HIDDEN WORLD BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY Winner: Roger Deakins, 1917, Runner-ups: Jarin Blaschke, THE LIGHTHOUSE; Rodrigo Prieto, THE IRISHMAN; Hoyte Van Hoytema, AD ASTRA; Robert Richardson, ONCE UPON A TIME…IN HOLLYWOOD and Phedon Papamichael, FORD V FERRARI BEST NEWCOMER Winner: Roman Griffin Davis was awarded Best Newcomer for JOJO RABBIT GARY MURRAY AWARD (Best Ensemble) Winner: KNIVES OUT