• by Wes Singleton

2nd Annual Wes Awards - 2017

Last year I started giving out my own "awards" last year to the best of in films. I will continue that tradition.

Here are the winners for the 2nd Annual 2017 Wes Awards for Excellence in Film.

Best Picture: The Post

Best Director: Guillermo Del Toro, The Shape of Water

Best Actor: Jake Gyllenhaal, Stronger

Best Actress: Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water

Best Supporting Actress: Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Best Supporting Actor: Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Animated Film: Coco

Best Newcomer: Hong Chau, Downsizing, and Brooklynn Prince, The Florida Project

Best Ensemble: The Shape of Water

Best Documentary: Step

Best Foreign Film: Raw

Best Cinematography: Blade Runner 2049

Best Original Screenplay: Get Out

Best Adapted Screenplay: The Disaster Artist